Staff Pension Committees

Under the overall authority of the United Nations General Assembly and pursuant to Article 4 of the UNJSPF Regulations, the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund (UNJSPF or the Fund) is administered by the Pension Board, a Staff Pension Committee (SPC) for each member organization and a secretariat to each such committee.

In accordance with Article 8 of the Regulations, the Pension Administration serves as the secretariat of the United Nations Staff Pension Committee.


The United Nations Staff Pension Committee (UNSPC) is responsible for the administration of pension matters pursuant to Article 4 of the Regulations of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund (UNJSPF), in respect of staff members of the United Nations Organization and its Funds and Programmes. (This excludes staff members of the World Food Programme, who are administered for pension purposes by the  Staff Pension Committee of the Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO).)

The Committee considers all aspects pertaining to the award and continuation of disability benefits under Article 33 of the Regulations in respect of staff members/participants and disabled children of staff members/participants under Article 36(b) of the Regulations and the related appeals, and appeals of decisions of the Chief Executive of Pension Administration of the Fund in respect of pension matters affecting participants in the Fund.

Pursuant to Article 8 of the Regulations, Pension Administration serves as secretariat of the UNSPC.

Pursuant to Article 6 of the Regulations, the UNSPC consists of four members and four alternate members appointed by the General Assembly, four members and two alternates appointed by the Secretary-General, and four members and two alternates who are participants in the Fund elected by the participants.

The representatives of the General Assembly determine the persons to be designated as members and alternate members, respectively, on the Committee. The representatives of the General Assembly on the Committee, serving for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 2021, are:

  • Ms. Pía Poroli (Argentina)
  • Dr. Ahmed Al-Kabir (Bangladesh)
  •  Mr. Jörg Stosberg (Germany)
  • Mr. Yamada Jun (Japan)
  • H.E. Mr. Philip Richard Okanda Owade (Kenya)
  • Mr. Dmitry S. Chumakov (Russian Federation)
  • Mr. David Traystman (United States of America)
  • H.E. Mr. Lovemore Mazemo (Zimbabwe)

The members and alternate members now representing the Secretary-General on the United Nations Staff Pension Committee are:


  • Ms. Catherine Pollard
  • Ms. Martha Helena Lopez
  • Mr. Arnab Roy
  • Ms. Kathryn Alford

Alternate Members

  • Mr. Chandramouli Ramanathan
  • Ms. Maria Costa

The representatives of the United Nations participants elected for four-year terms as of 1 July 2021:


  • Ms. Patricia Nemeth
  • Ms. Mary Abu Rakabeh
  • Mr. Christian Castelli
  • Mr. Ibrahima Faye

Alternate members

  • Mr. Ian Richards
  • Mr. Youssef Sfeir

Other SPC Secretaries are appointed by the chief administrative officer of each member organization on the recommendation of the respective SPC.

LinkedIn Twitter