United Nations Staff Pension Committee

If you require assistance with logging to the portal, contact our help desk:

The United Nations Staff Pension Committee (UNSPC) is responsible for the administration of pension matters pursuant to Article 4 of the Regulations of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund (UNJSPF), in respect of staff members of the United Nations Organization and its Funds and Programmes. (This excludes staff members of the World Food Programme, who are administered for pension purposes by the  Staff Pension Committee of the Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO).)

The Committee considers all aspects pertaining to the award and continuation of disability benefits under Article 33 of the Regulations in respect of staff members/participants and disabled children of staff members/participants under Article 36(b) of the Regulations and the related appeals, and appeals of decisions of the Chief Executive Officer of the Fund in respect of pension matters affecting participants in the Fund.

The secretariat of the Board serves as the secretariat of the UNSPC.

Pursuant to Article 6 of the Regulations, the UNSPC consists of four members and four alternate members appointed by the General Assembly, four members and two alternates appointed by the Secretary-General, and four members and two alternates who are participants in the Fund elected by the participants.

The representatives of the General Assembly determine the persons to be designated as members and alternate members, respectively, on the Committee. The representatives of the General Assembly on the Committee, serving for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 2021, are:

  • Ms. Pía Poroli (Argentina)
  • Mr. Dmitry S. Chumakov (Russian Federation)
  • Mr. Jörg Stosberg (Germany)
  • H.E. Mr. Lovemore Mazemo (Zimbabwe)
  • Dr. Ahmed Al-Kabir (Bangladesh)
  • H.E. Mr. Philip Richard Okanda Owade (Kenya)
  • Mr. David Traystman (United States of America)
  • Mr. Tomoya Yamaguchi (Japan)

As of 4 October 2019, the members and alternate members representing the Secretary-General on the United Nations Staff Pension Committee are:


  • Ms. Catherine Pollard
  • Mr. Chandramouli Ramanathan
  • Ms. Martha Helena Lopez
  • Mr. Christian Saunders

Alternate members

  • Ms. Kathryn Alford
  • Mr. Arnab Roy

The following representatives of the United Nations participants were elected in April 2017. They remain in office for a four-year term or “until the election of their successors” in accordance with Article 6(b) of the UNJSPF Regulations:


Ms. Mary Abu Rakabeh

Mr. Ian Richards

Ms. Michelle Rockcliffe

Alternate members

Ms. Ndeye Aissatou Ndiaye

Mr. Ibrahima Faye


Site designed and developed by Social Ink [+]

Font Resize